Kitchen Bin Up-cycle

So I spent a few hours scouring the inter web along with twitter requests, looking for a funky kitchen bin that came in under than £200. I mean lets face it, who’s gonna pay that for a kitchen bin?

This Wesco beauty is to die for but my budget just couldn’t justify it, how ever beautiful and epic it is!

ec46b323049f00720c24cc5abee65389

So instead of splurging £260 I suddenly had a brain wave, I had some sticky back plastic and our old grey plastic bin, make my own!

You can too so heres how..

Take an old and tired (or new) plastic kitchen bin.

20140321_105546

Ours has seen better days, much like our kitchen, but thats a whole other DIY tutorial!

20140321_105556

I used this cute Orla Keily inspired sticky back plastic I bought from Home Bargains last year for 89p a roll I think it was.

20140321_105821

I laid it out and measured it to size. As the bin tapered I knew I was going to have to become creative with the fit. There are some lumps and bumps to the back piece I couldn’t couldn’t get out but with a little patience you should get a smooth finish.

20140321_110734

I did the front and back panels before tackling the shaped sides.

20140321_110746

I cut two pieces to fit the shape as best as possible and laid them over. This has helped to cover the pulls in the side pieces due to the shape.

20140321_111507

Its not perfect but optically, as you really don’t spend ages staring at your kitchen bin, the pattern melts together and you don’t notice the joins.

20140321_112112

Sadly the lid was to tricky a shape for the stick back plastic to take but it could be spray painted in white to match, turning this once tired out old bin into something pretty.

I actually really love it , it cost me nothing, kept me out of trouble for a half hour and is a great start to our new made over kitchen!

What pattern would you choose if you pimped out your old kitchen bin?

Leave a Reply

