DIY stairs make over

When we moved into this house, 4 years ago now, the stair case had been stained in a horrendous red mahogany that did nothing for the small small, it was imposing and frankly it had been done by a blind man!

So last year I made a start on doing them over, I painted all the sides white and the banister and painted the spindles a variety of colours just to add something new to the space, I LOVED it and we then replaced the tatty cream carpet with a lovely Berber, however, the cat took an instant dislike to it and over several months scratched out nearly all the loops he could get his swanky little paws on, I wasn’t best pleased but this spurred me to take the giant step id been pinning over since I started painting them and that was to pull up the carpet and paint the stairs completely.
I lost many an hr over several months looking for inspiration, trouble was I had to much and I basically couldn’t choose a style I loved most so in the name of frugality i had a rummage in my wallpaper storage ( read the loft!) and found something i thought would work.
Id picked up this paper at home base about 2 yrs previous for £1 for 2 rolls in their massive end of season sale.
IMG_20140122_104438
Basically this is what i started with, bare boards. The house being only 8 yrs old and not being build by the most capable of builders is a little rough around the edges but this really gives you the perfect opportunity to work with something you wouldn’t normally attempt because basically, it couldn’t get any worse!
IMG_20140122_131640
The bottom step had already been painted after the cat ruined the carpet so this was the first coat of gloss paint, I used satin so it wouldn’t be as shiny.
IMG_20140122_154905
3 coats in and I didn’t really feel like i was making much progress in all honesty.
IMG_20140123_203550
Approx 7 coats of paint, 48 hrs and a coat of varnish and they look the shizzle, here is the paper in all its glory. surprisingly it only took about 2 and a half hours to cut and paper all the steps, I still hate wallpapering!
20140125_091530
And… drum roll please…. The finished article! I seriously couldn’t be happier, and totally on a budget, it didn’t cost a penny! I used everything we already had around the house. Finally I have a stairway to be proud of!!
If you where making over your stairs, how would you do it? I’d love to hear your ideas.
L x
2 thoughts on “DIY stairs make over

Leave a Reply

